Sunday Mornings!!

I was in Delhi for a weekend and that only means one thing for me- a food walk/trip/trail to the revered Chandni Chowk. (No doubts on why I’ve gained 10 kgs in last few days)

Before and after posts have to be different but this is only about the morning that happened. I was staying at my Best Friends place and I had already informed them about my plan of a Sunday morning food walk. Prateek had ditched me for this one and I couldn’t think of any body else to drag to Chandni Chowk. Varun is my rescue- I asked him and he readily accepted the plan. 

I Got up by 7:30 and planned ( 7:30 was early by my standards- I slept after 1 am last night)

  • Checked out the blogs etc for Places. Left a few tabs open to be checked once I’m there 
  • The idea was to start at 9 am 
  • No metro- it’s a Sunday, I’ll take Uber
  • And because it’ll only take half an hour to reach NDLS; I’ll try Uberpool (difference of hardly Rs. 20/- but for the experience)
  • Reach NDLS by 9:30-9:45 and put my luggage in the Cloak room
  • Take a cycle-rickshaw/auto rickshaw to Chandni Chowk and make it there by 10-10:15
  • Get done by 1 pm and go to Bhua’s place 

And it started off exactly like that. I sat in the cab (was wearing a red top and the cab was red too- things my Best Friend notices) and started by 9:15. Started chatting with the driver and confirming that it would only take me half an hour until he put a disclaimer about Co-passengers. And as he mentioned, he gets a call for pool. Summary of the incident- we had no clue where Vikramshila building is that the lady mentioned. Took us almost quarter of an hour (it was already 9:45 at this Point) extra to figure that out- and then we entered the IIT Delhi. 

IIT Delhi is big- and this was my first time inside the campus (probably last too- nobody is ever going to invite me to IIT). The campus plan, chilled-out kids, so many cars, such big playgrounds. The driver was looking for the building and the surroundings were enough to mesmerize me. I was soaking it in- trying to appreciate it and make up for the delay that it was causing me. From somewhere, a peacock turned up in the ground- (those really aren’t the grounds but the fields and meadows) such a beautiful scene. As we moved ahead, I thanked the cabby stating that this was my first time ever into IIT-D. We found our Co-passenger and headed out of IIT. Uber suggested that we had to drop my Co-passenger first who had to go to Kota House. We missed the building etc are small parts of this journey but as we figured out, I asked the lady sitting beside me, about Kota House. Kota House comprises of transit flats for Navy  officers. Wow, I never expected to enter this building. But some days, you are lucky and I got to go inside-out even if it was a 5-minute exercise). Aunty and I parted our ways, exchanging pleasantries. Already 10:40 am and Varun had already reached Chandni Chowk. 

And now finally I was on my way to Paharganj railway station, Thankfully. The driver told me to get down and walk, else I might get stuck in the jam and will be further delayed. The ******* dropped me a km  (almost) before the station and I had no other option but to walk because the rickshaw would charge nothing less than a hundred bucks for this- when they would spot someone with a suitcase. 

While I was super-duper late for everything that followed and upset with the cabby; there was an element of excitement in my eyes and satisfaction of being in 2 places of national importance on a Sunday morning. And that too; totally unexpected. Life happens like this and it’s more important to grab the happiness out of every moment.

Keep watching for the wonderful things, because they don’t ring a bell seeking appointment,

A!! 

Author: musaafirana

Musaafirana is the animated, glamorized journey of a small town girl- glamorized because she's Punjabi, small town because she doesn't belong to metros or tier-1 & 2 cities. She feels she's over qualified yet under-learned. She is learning, as she's getting older, that rules are made to be broken. She is bold enough to live life on her terms, and never, ever apologizes for it. She refuses to conform, takes the road never traveled (atleast in the family) and stubbornly refuses to fit in. She is a rebel, and a constant High on life.

Leave a Reply

